General Information


Peru is a democratic republic, whereby the President of Peru is both head of state and head of government. According to the Peruvian Constitution of 1993, the Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Congress. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Quick facts

– Population: 31 million (2017)
– Capital: Lima
– National day: 28 July (Independence from Spain in 1821)
– Area: 1,285,216 square kilometres
– GDP growth: 2.5% (2017)
– Per Capita Income: US$ 6,049 (2016)
– Currency: Sol “S/”


Executive branch

– Head of State and Government: President Martin Vizcarra
– Chief of the Cabinet of Ministers: Pedro Cateriano Bellido


Legislative branch

Unicameral Congress of the Republic of Peru or Congreso de la Republica del Perú (130 seats; members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by closed party list).


Judicial branch

Highest court: Supreme Court (consists of 16 judges divided into civil, criminal, and constitutional-social chambers).

Subordinate courts: Court of Constitutional Guarantees; Superior Courts or Cortes Superiores; specialized civil, criminal, and mixed courts; 2 types of peace courts in which professional judges and selected members of the local communities preside.